A new beginning

All that paint I have left over never goes to waste!

All that paint I have left over never goes to waste!

So… I was recently laid off and I am no longer gainfully employed. It is very strange not seeing everyone I have spent the better half of my life with over the past 9 years. I certainly miss the conversations we had during the Lulls. We often talked about food – our favourite subject – the humour was rampant and the friendships were true and definitely tried!

The past week has been filled with my volunteer work with the Richmond Hill Group of Artists. We are re-creating our web site and I have to say it is a pleasure not to have a numerous people overseeing the creative process. My cohort Andrea End makes the process easy as we work together very well – compromises are based on experience not personal taste – and we ultimately have the group’s needs as our priority.

My baby checking the pond for frogs early one summer morning.

My baby checking the pond for frogs early one summer morning.

My personal growth over the past week has been incremental. I had an interview with a ground breaking private school – the Brentway Academy – in Brampton. Their mission is to provide excellence in education – the children come first not the profit margin. I hope to obtain the teacher position for the upcoming August Graphic Artist camp.

Today working for myself I created a fantastic résumé/portfolio and learned how to create an interactive PDF. The support I received from my previous employers, co-workers and our contact at Walmart Canada was astronomical. I can’t thank them enough for their support. Adding a new page to my blog was also high on my list of accomplishments today! It contains my résumé and some of my favourite design pieces from the past 9 years.

Pallet knife painting is one of my emotional stabilizers

Pallet knife painting is one of my emotional stabilizers

And last but not least I made time today to start painting for my upcoming August Thursday Nights at the Mill Pond Gallery show. I started “The Frog Pond” a great memory of my daughter Kassandra and her early morning check for frogs in the pond behind grandmas house. Drop in to see me at the Gallery on Thursday August 15 and enjoy the art show.

A reminder of the back channel in the Fall

A reminder of the back channel in the Fall

I hope you enjoyed the continuation of  my series of 4×5″ canvas board pallet knife paintings. Check back next week for more!

Leave a comment