Sunday Sketches at the Richmond Hill Winter Carnival

It certainly was a great weekend for the Richmond Hill Winter Carnival at Mill Pond Park. I missed all the sunshine on Saturday due to an indoor face painting activity I was helping with, but I enjoyed the snow this afternoon instead.
I grabbed my easel, some paper, charcoal and carbon pencils and set up beside the skaters on the pond. I had a few visitors, the kids were the bravest to come right up to me and ask questions, the adults stopped and nodded as if they didn’t want to disturb me.
It was cold, -9 C, so I was forced to work quickly to keep my hands warm, and well, the skaters were not going to stand still on my account. I outlined, brushed off, smudged and tickled the colours onto my page and I am pleased with my results.
Winter hats make interesting studies? My favourite is the little girl with the red flower on her hat.
Enjoy!

20140209-183638.jpg

20140209-183653.jpg

20140209-183717.jpg

Leave a comment